kaymlink

These Are My Confessions, Part 1

In Opinion/Personal, Random on September 28, 2012 at 9:37 am

I’ve decided that in addition to the long, opinionated blog posts, I will also start doing shorter, less serious ones. Take this one, for example. It is the first in a series I plan to post pertaining to my secrets that I will be letting out. Guilty pleasures, embarrassing moments – its all going here from now on.

So…my first confession. I love music. (That’s not the confession, it’s building up to it.). I love music, but generally not the girly, pop-ish type. I’m more into hard hitting drums and long haired dirty men shredding guitars or singers clad in skinny jeans and ugly sweaters. However…I must confess that I utterly and absolutely adore…Vanessa Carlton.

I can’t explain it. Nobody can deny that she’s good. Even if you hate everything about her music, you still can not say that she doesn’t have talent. I normally do not enjoy that kind of music, but there is just something about hers. Maybe it’s the piano. I’ve always loved pianos and keyboards (and unsuccessfully attempted to learn, myself, several years ago). Pianos can sound so serene and beautiful one second, then turn demanding and frantic the next, all the while maintaining that regal quality – its mind boggling. And Vanessa Carlton does that do well, with the intensity of her playing increasing through the songs so it builds and builds into something wonderful.

Maybe it’s her voice. I’ve always preferred singers with an unusual quality to their voices or an unusual way to turn the phrases and words of the songs. Her voice isn’t too terribly different, but it has a quality to it that other young female singers don’t. It’s soft and sweet and she sounds so young, but she also has the ability to round it off and make it sound thicker and almost huskier. And the way her voice tone and intensity matches the rise of the piano throughout the songs is amazing.

Maybe it’s her lyrics. I haven’t heard every song she’s ever made, but the ones I have heard are real, relatable. Her lyrics are simple compared to some of the obscure songs out these days, but still evoke an emotion because they are telling a story about things that almost every person has been through in their life. But then again, without the right music and vocals, the lyrics could lack on impact.

Vanessa Carlton’s music makes me happy and reminds me of when I was younger, for some reason, when I was carefree and still somewhat innocent of the world. It reminds me of the changes in my life, the big moments and mile markers that a person never forgets and all the people that have come into and out of my life as I’ve gone through these cents and changed. Maybe that’s why I’m so drawn to it, because I’m nostalgic. Maybe I can’t really explain why I am drawn to it. Either way, I’m okay with.

…and I just realized that this isn’t much shorter of a post. Oh well. 🙂

  1. […] in what I now know must be my second confessions post.  (Until then, feel free to re-read my first one )  Just know that it’s […]

    Like

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

