imthatkay

A Stressful Catharsis

In Personal, Random on October 22, 2012 at 11:11 am

I know so far I’ve just been posting my random thoughts and opinions, which is great. It’s cathartic for me to write out my thoughts and what not, but physically writing in a journal felt too much like homework to me so I never could get to a point where I enjoyed that. I never felt that release from it that I was expecting. Typing it and posting it online, however, gives me that feeling of having it out. Out of my head, out of the shadows, out in the open.
Reading other people’s blogs also makes me feel better. I find people I relate to, I find inspirational stories and stories that make me want to do better in my own life, and I think…if only. If only I could be that for someone else. If only I could inspire or relate or…anything. That would just be tops for me. I recall a quote from Emily Dickenson:

“If I can stop one heart from
breaking, I shall not live in vain;
If I can ease one life the aching,
Or cool one pain, Or help one
fainting robin; Into his nest
again, I shall not live in vain.”

Maybe that’s why I went into the field of psychology and social work. Maybe that’s why my writing got put on the back burner. I found it difficult to believe for a while that writing could allow me to accomplish what is meant by that quote, but now I know I was wrong. I’m accomplishing that for myself by forcing myself to put it all out there. I’ve found a plethora of blogs that I enjoy reading that I feel I’ve taken something away from afterwards.
I didn’t begin this post intending for it to go in this direction, but my brain and hands had something else in mind, apparently an extension of my explanation post. My original point was that I plan to compile my writings, my fiction, and post up pieces. Most of them are not finished, many I have abandoned because I hit a brick wall with the idea, some were never fully formed ideas in the first place but I jotted then down to possibly use later. This is the true test. Am I brave enough to do it? If I thought putting my thoughts down for others to read was hard, then putting my creativity out there for others to see is damn near impossible, but I think I really want to do it. A stressful catharsis…what an oxymoron, right?

  1. I completely understand what you are saying.

    Writing in a diary and closing the book keeps the thoughts locked in there. Writing on a blog is like sending a letter, once you post it it’s out there with the benefit of people being able to offer their insights.

    Nice blog you have going here! 🙂

  2. […] A Stressful Catharsis (imthatkay.wordpress.com) […]

  3. I’m talking on my site about this subject aswell. So I totally agree with you!

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

