kaymlink

The Takeover

In Poetry, Writing on October 25, 2012 at 5:05 pm

I feel comfortable in saying I have a way with words in writing stories or articles or opinion pieces.  I never thought I would write poetry.  I absolutely love reading poetry, but I often do research after reading a poem I particularly enjoy to make sure I am fully understanding all the intricacies.  I had this idea of what poetry was, all flowery words and debatable representations – ala Dickinson, Poe, or Shakespeare – and it all seemed far to deep for me.  But one day, several years ago when I was wasting time in a general education class in college by doodling around in a notebook, a statement formed in my mind.  I don’t know where it came from or how it came together, it just did and I felt compelled to write it down.  So I did, but it didn’t stop there.  This one random little sentence, lines 3-4 in the following writing, sparked even more bits and pieces that started falling into place and by the end of this useless class I was stuck in, I had completed what I never thought possible: a poem that wasn’t completely terrible.  I am not knowledgeable at all about poetry.  I know none of the technical terms or the different styles still to this day, but that’s the closest thing I can think of that this fragmented little story could be, and therefore that’s what I decided to call it: my very first poem entitled The Takeover.

I know you think you need it
But I’m forced to disagree
You bite your teeth
And grind your bones
And all I want is to be home

I made you and let it change me
Waking, sleeping, living, breathing
From behind a woolen veil
From Summer’s leave until she came
Spitting, crying, roaring
Emptying her pocket book onto us all
That bitter girl of gray and cold

That was too much time for me
But you had made your home
A dramatic little crowd pleaser
My clock grew slower
My timer grew faster
I was disappearing, gone too too fast
And you had taken over

Copyright © 2012
  1. Nice one. I think we all know someone that fits this description. 🙂

    Like

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

