imthatkay

These Are My Confessions, Part 2

In Opinion, Opinion/Personal, Personal, Random on November 6, 2012 at 11:57 pm

English: Gossip Girl TV series logo.I’m just going to blurt it out.  Here it goes… Gossip Girl.  Oh yes, it’s true.  I’m hiding my face even as I type this.  Gossip Girl, the unbelievable teen/young adult drama on the CW channel.  The really bad part is that I didn’t get into this show when I was younger.  No, I started watching it on Netflix this year.  I don’t know what possessed me to start it, and I swear I went in very skeptical and judgy.  But something happened about halfway through the first episode.  I had already fallen in love with the characters, and the drama and twists and surprises are like a drug.

Serena, with her sketchy past and steadfast belief that she’s a different person all while making the same mistakes over and over again.  Blair‘s narcissism and constant sabotage.  Chuck just…being Chuck BassNate and his constant unrequited loves.  Dan, oh Dan, and his constant judgements of the Upper East Side while acting just like them every chance he gets.  The transformation from Little J to wafer goth.  And good God don’t forget about Georgina.  They love each other, they hate each other, they slept with someone else.  Even the parents on this show are in and out of triangles and schemes and other shenanigans and I absolutely love it.  I hated these types of people when I was in high school.  I avoided it at all costs, and now I can’t get enough.  So much so that I successfully completed all 5 seasons on Netflix, the last season within a span of around 3 days, then watched the first 3 episodes of season 6 in time to be fully caught up when the new episodes began airing this week.

As if that’s not bad enough, I find myself concerned for the fact that this is the last season.  I’ve enjoyed watching the characters evolve (or not evolve, for some) and how it’s coming full circle for some of them.  I won’t say too much because I hate it when a show or movie is spoiled by someone running on and giving too many details, but I’m only 3 episodes in on the final season and I can already see how the writers have brought some things full circle from the first season.  But I catch myself getting slightly upset that these characters will be gone soon and contemplating what teen drama I can use to fill that void that will be there, but I know deep down that no other show will compare, and that’s a whole other level of confessions because this show is not superb quality.

This show is predictable.  It is often unrealistic.  It doesn’t always have the best actors.  But somehow, I’ve gone beyond all those things, which would typically make me nauseous, and connected with the out of this world story and exaggerated characters.  And the constant eye candy of attractive men, beautiful women, and stunning clothing filling the television screen every second this show is on just feeds into my addiction.

And if there are any other fans out there that have stumbled upon this confession…Blair and Chuck are definitely my favorites, in that order.  And even more when they are together.  And just coming out of season 5 almost gave me a heart attack with how much crap happened.  Also, only another fan will get the fact that I found it extremely amusing as I was typing this post that I was given recommended links for all the main characters I mentioned except for Serena.  Lastly, I will probably cry on the finale.   The end.

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

