imthatkay

Recommending: Covers

In Opinion, Opinion/Personal, Personal, Recommendations on November 12, 2012 at 9:14 pm

Since I already name dropped Melanie Martinez in a post, I thought it was the perfect segway into my first official Recommendations post about covers.  No, I don’t mean blankets or throws or comforters style covers.  I’m talking remakes of popular songs kind of covers.  Sometimes, sticking true to the song is the best way to go, especially if a song is so amazing to begin with.  Sometimes a slight change-up, such as a male singing a song originally done by a female, is the perfect little push in the right direction to take the song from good to great.  And sometimes (and often what has proven to be my favorite kind of cover), a complete re-imagining that is so out of box turns out to be a shining moment.

Although performance shows on television are rarely ever actually legitimate, they do produce some of the best renditions of songs.  Here are a few that have stuck out in my mind (and if you haven’t seen or heard them, click it and it’ll take you to the video):

Melanie Martinez – Toxic, Lindsey Pavao – Say AahColton Dixon – SeptemberDavid Cook – Billie Jean, and possibly my favorite of all time, Phillip Phillips – U Got It Bad

Those are all really different takes on pretty popular songs that ended up working out really, really well.  Then there are the covers that are completely unexpected and off the wall.  I find these very entertaining, and so far the best example I’ve found of these covers are the Punk Goes… albums.  Punk Goes Classic Rock, Punk Goes Pop, Punk Goes Crunk.  Some of these covers are really good, and I personally prefer them over the original.  Check out the covers of Umbrella, Disturbia, and We Found Love.  No offense, Rihanna, but these boys take the cake for me.  Some of them are just hilarious (Say Anything – Got Your Money).  Look into these more on Itunes if they interest you, there are numerous cd’s of different bands covering different songs.

Then there are the covers that aren’t really different from the original at all.  Check out Colton Dixon – Everything, and again, I’ll reference Phillip Phillips (if you can’t tell yet, I really like him) for Volcano and The Stone.  Now, I will say that it’s very hard to upstage Dave Matthews, but with a voice so similar, it’s pretty close.  However, I feel that the cover of Volcano is better than the original by Damien Rice.  This kind of hurts, because I am a fan of Damien Rice, as well, but his voice just seems too soft and sweet for the lyrics of this song, and that gravel is exactly what Phillip Phillips brings to it.

Let’s not forget about the home videos uploaded onto Youtube daily of your average Joe doing covers of popular songs, fighting to get their voice heard.  I can definitely respect this.  It takes balls.  I’ve found that searching Youtube for covers of a band I’m really into at the moment or a particular song that I’m really enjoying can lead me to any number of amazing unknown singers and great covers.  The only bad part is that they aren’t available for download anywhere.  And speaking of good Youtube videos for song covers, I have a pretty little friend by the name of Shawn Brandon who does just that to put himself out there into the music world.  Covers and a couple of originals, from what I can see, are available for a listen on his Youtube channel.

So for my first recommendations post, which turned out to be pretty lengthy and broad, I recommend covers.  Specifically, the covers in this post.  These are the best, again in my opinion, and can lead you to even more good ones.

  1. Philip philipps deserve to win the american idol singing contenst.’

    Latest piece of writing produced by our blog
    http://www.healthmedicinelab.com/pain-in-left-side/

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

