imthatkay

Unconventional Thanks

In Opinion, Opinion/Personal, Personal, Random on November 25, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Most everyone should be well recovered from Thanksgiving by now.  Forgive me if I don’t finish a sentence, or even a word for that matter.  I can barely finish a thought still since my Thanksgiving dinner was just yesterday and I’m still coming out of a food coma.  I’ve also had the pleasure of housing myself, my mother, my grandmother, my aunt, her two daughters, my uncle, and his son in a two bedroom apartment for 3 days.  Oh, and my dog, who mostly hid under the dining chairs or under my bed because she’s terrified of men and doesn’t really care to be pestered by a 10-year-old boy.  Anyways, I did very well this year.  I did not gorge myself to the point of not being able to fit into my clothes for a week, as I normally do when my grandmother cooks her holiday meals.  However, I did have my morning coffee, then turkey and all the sides around lunch time, then went for Fro Jo’s, then got Starbucks, then came home for a late dinner of more turkey and sides, then had some pie, then a late night snack of pop corn.  Somewhere in between all that, I also had a soft pretzel.  My excuse is that I had to take my family to get the treats they usually enjoy while they are in town since they are unable to get these treats, such as Fro Jo’s or Auntie Anne’s pretzels or Starbucks, in my hometown.  Whatever, I also battled the crowd at the mall for around 4 hours, so I think I deserved some treats myself.

As usual during holiday times, my Facebook news feed is overloaded with status updates about life, loved ones, loved ones that are no longer with us, shelter, food, employment, etc.  I get it, people want to express their feelings.  I have never been good at pretending to be one of those people.  Needless to say, my Facebook activity is limited to none around holidays, and basically throughout the entire month of November since everyone jumped on the daily thankful status bandwagon…as if one day full of cheesy paragraph long updates about boyfriends and husbands and daddies isn’t enough.   I’m thankful for things too, but I don’t feel the need to broadcast it constantly.

So you and your husband made it another year and had 1-2 more babies and you STILL love him “even more every day” blah blah blah.  *Thumbs up*

Oh, you’re still glad that you have a perfect relationship with your daddy?  The same perfect relationship you’ve had with him since your birth? *Congrats*

Long story short, and probably too late, but I decided that I would put my own thankful thoughts out there for the entire world to see whether they wanted to or not, but I was going to do it my way.  No mushy, sappy crap here.  I’m going true to myself and a little unconventional.  I’d like to take this time to express my appreciation for the littler things in life, since that’s what generally entertains me most anyways.

Right now, I am thankful for the quietness in my house after it has been filled to the brim with people for days.

I am thankful when I wake up and realize I still have time to sleep before having to unhappily drag myself out of bed – even if it’s only 10 minutes.

I am thankful for coffee creamer, because I ran out a few days ago and tried to drink that shit with just milk and it was horrible.

I am thankful that a person I know is dealing with a crazy stalker person, only because that means I no longer have to deal with this same crazy stalker person.

I am thankful that I have a couple of gossip-y friends, because it provides great entertainment to hear stories about people even if I have no idea who these people are.

I am thankful that I have been able to see karma come back and kick some people in the ass, only because they thoroughly deserved it and I still think they’ve gotten off easy.

I am thankful for cartoons, however horrible they may be, for having the magical ability of quieting down rambunctious children.

I am thankful for cheese.  Cheese makes everything better.

And bacon.  For the same reason as above.

I am thankful to see my younger cousin developing into a wise little teenager in much the same way I did, meaning she does not have brassy bleached hair, fake orange skin, clothes that should be worn to the club by a 26 year old, or a vocabulary that includes words such as “yolo” or “ratchet.”  This gives me a little hope for our future that maybe, just maybe, there are still some regular teenagers out there somewhere amid the sea of culture zombies.

I am thankful that my grandmother always says the prayer before we eat to bless the food.  I feel I would have been highly disappointing to her religious ears had I done it with my list here.   But I’ll stick to the tradition, especially since I’m pretty sure Jesus would agree with lots of my stuff as well as the typical thanks.  I whole heartedly believe he was a cheese lover since he was such a connoisseur of wine, and I know Jesus never called anybody ratchet., or never would have if people back in that time had created ridiculous made up words because they thought it made them sound cool.  So…bless this food that I’ll still be eating for lunch and dinner for 3 days and amen.

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

