kaymlink

The Wisdom of Fictional Characters: Bones Got Me…

In Uncategorized on February 2, 2013 at 1:40 pm

I have a television obsession.  I DVR so many shows it should be illegal.  And even if it were illegal, I’d still do it.  One my shows is Bones.  I love it.  I love the crime and mystery aspect of it, but I also love the quirky characters.  The last episode was called “The Twist in the Plot” and focused on a two bodies found in the same shallow grave, one that was supposed to be there as part of her burial plans and one that was not even supposed to be dead.  If anyone watches this show, then you will be familiar with Dr. Sweets, the psych guy, and his now ex-girlfriend Daisy, who was an intern in the lab for a while.  Sweets and Daisy were perfect for each other, but Sweets got cold feet when they were planning to move in together and broke up with her.  This episode was Daisy’s return to the lab after the break-up.  In addition, during this episode, Bones and Booth discussed their own wills and plans for burials, etc.  If you watch the show and haven’t seen this episode, do not read below this line, as it will discuss details of the show.

So Daisy returns, but she isn’t an emotional wreck.  She’s calm and essentially cold, mimicking a lot of Bones’ characteristics of not playing into emotions.  She compares herself to Bones throughout the episode.  Then she has her first encounter with Sweets in the lab.  It’s a bit awkward on Sweets’ part, but Daisy sticks to her science and the job and plays it off.  They then decide to have coffee together, during which they both express how they have missed each other.  Daisy even tells Sweets about how she woke up in the middle of the night and reached out for him.  She continues to play it cool, though, and never shows emotion even as she’s telling this story.  That is, until Dr. Saroyan finds her sitting in the lab all by herself with her mascara smeared from tears.  This is one of the best scenes I’ve seen from this show.  I don’t know why, but it just got me.  Saroyan enters the labs and says something along the lines of “I can pretend I don’t see the mascara smeared on your cheek from crying.” Daisy tells her that she’s sad and it is because of Sweets.  She explains that they had coffee and agreed that they should not be together, but questions whether they are wrong in that decision.  Saroyan reminds Daisy that, while she and Sweets had something “alive and vibrant”, she is a very good scientist and, as a very good scientist, to consider this:

Saroyan: “…have you ever seen anything come back to life and be as good as it ever was?”

Daisy: “No.”

Saroyan: “So feel sad; cry.  You lost something wonderful.  But keep moving forward.  It will get better.”

As if the heart-strings weren’t pulled enough already, the episode ends with Booth making a video to Christine, the daughter he shares with Bones, to be played for her in the event of his death.  In this video, he talks about his love for God, but also for beer and hockey, and his pride for serving to protect the country that he also loves.  Unbeknownst to him, Bones is standing behind him listening as he goes on to tell Christine that he was lucky to have gotten to spend time with her and her mom and for her to help her mom remember how to be happy and laugh and smile.

Needless to say, I was a leaking, dripping mess.  Even Bones had a tear, just before she crashed Booth’s video to hug him.  This episode really stood out to me.  Maybe it was because of the idea of funeral arrangements and losing loved ones after I had just opened that doorway with my previous post, An Undelivered Letter – To My Loved OneDeath has always been very hard for me to handle, and the thought of planning my own for my loved ones, or worse – my loved ones planning theirs for me – causes a tightness in my chest that scares me.  It’s not something I want to think about, despite knowing that it is a part of the circle of life and something that needs to be done for the security of future generations in the family.

Maybe it’s because I’ve been going through a lot lately.  I am no scientist, but Saroyan’s statement was oddly profound to me.  Profound enough that I felt it needed to be shared.  Everyone has those moments in life when you don’t know if you’ve made the right decision, but I think it is important to always remember that there is a reason you made the decision you made and that is because somewhere, some part of you knows it is what you needed at that point in time.

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

