imthatkay

I Got Another Award!?

In Awards on February 25, 2013 at 12:11 am

I have been nominated for the Liebster Award by kateginnivan, *here*.

Thank you, thank you, thank you!  I still don’t know what I’m doing here.  I looked it up on Google and I think I’m doing this correctly!

11 Nominations:

  1. http://shebrolet.wordpress.com/
  2. http://multifariousmeanderings.wordpress.com/
  3. http://tentaclesofmyheart.wordpress.com/
  4. http://kuuleilani.wordpress.com/
  5. http://causetowander.wordpress.com/
  6. http://16jh.wordpress.com/
  7. http://thisartinmyhands.wordpress.com/
  8. http://jacusloxy.wordpress.com/
  9. http://runswithfoxes.wordpress.com/
  10. http://sleepingonclouds.wordpress.com/
  11. http://heresanjanablogging.wordpress.com/

11 Facts About Me:

  1. I talk out loud to myself constantly, even in front of other people.  It helps me figure things out faster.
  2. I have developed a recent obsession with doing my nails and trying those crazy Pinterest ideas on them (which never really work for me).
  3. I love to cook, but I don’t do it as often as I’d like.
  4. My dog is like my child and I absolutely spoil her.
  5. I have an addiction to Diet Pepsi and iced coffee.
  6. I have to set at least 4 alarms on my phone to go off at specific intervals to actually wake myself up.
  7. Forks scraping across plates of probably the worst noise in the entire world and it makes my teeth hurt.
  8. I have hearing loss in both ears, more significantly in one than the other, but not many people know because I have adapted and picked up tricks so it is essentially unnoticeable.
  9. My favorite movies are the anti-climactic, low-key, often gloomy indie films with long awkward silences and off kilter characters.
  10. I have been battling the army of crickets outside my apartment for the last 3 springs.  They lie in wait until I come or go and then charge the front door.  But i refuse to let them win…
  11. If I need to get anything done in a certain amount of time, all I have to do is put my ear buds in and listen to my iPod.  It turns me into a super efficient, un-distractable machine.

11 Questions:

  1. Who or what has most infuelnced your writing?  Probably my mother.  She was a very good writer back in the day and I can still recall the feel and smell of finding her old trunk full of writings.  I sat in the floor of my bedroom and surrounded myself with all the old notebooks and loose papers and just read all day long.  This made me want to write, and she was very encouraging when I began.  She was also my motivator to begin writing again and to look into the blog world.
  2. What is you favorite memory? I have no idea.  I have too many, from childhood memories with my family, to more recent amazing experiences I’ve had with the dearest of friends.  There’s no way to choose just one.
  3. If you were stranded on a deserted island, what is the one book you would want with you? Shakespeare.  I have a book that is a collection of samples from all of Shakespeare’s different writings – plays, sonnets, poems, a bit of everything.  That’s the book I would want with me.
  4. Do you have a writing routine?  I don’t.  My writing is very sporadic because of my work schedule and personal obligations.  I basically write whenever I can find the time to just sit and write.  But it is generally on my lap top stretched out on my couch with the television on for back ground noise.
  5. What was the last song you turned up loud and sang along with?  I do this daily, every single time I’m in my car.  Last night, my friends and I carpooled to an adult arcade – meaning they had awesome old school arcade games in addition to booze – for another friend’s birthday and on the way there I discovered an old mix cd in my friend’s car.  Of course, we put it in and blasted it and it was all old school rap songs.  We most definitely blasted and sang along to Get Low.  Who doesn’t do that every time that song is played?
  6. Of what are you most proud?  I am most proud that I have reached a point in my life that I am able to say without doubt that I am worthy.  I know that I am worthy of good things, I am worthy of happiness, and I am worthy of the struggle that will get me there.  I am proud of myself that I am able to say these things and that I am brave enough to stand up and get myself to this point, and further, to be a truly happy person.
  7. Which of your blog posts is your best and why?  I absolutely have to say it is my Undelivered Letter.  Not because it was Freshly Pressed.  I mean, that was amazing and I’m still shocked by it all, but because this writing was directly from my heart.  I didn’t over think it, I didn’t analyze everything, I just wrote and it was probably the most free writing I’ve ever done.  Not to mention that it continues to allow my loved one to live on in memories and was so deeply felt by others that have lost loved ones.
  8. What is your favorite quote?  Goodness, this is tough!  I have many favorite quotes, but one that has stuck with me for the longest time is, of course, Shakespeare.  “[I weep] at mine unworthiness, that dare not offer what I desire to give, and much less take what I shall die to want.  But this is trifling, and all the more it seeks to hide itself the bigger bulk it shows.  Hence, bashful cunning, and prompt me, plain and holy innocence!  I am your wife if you will marry me.  If not, I’ll die your maid.  To be your fellow you may deny me, but I’ll be your servant whether you will or no.”  I have never before or since heard/seen/read anything more passionate and what I imagine an all-consuming love to be.
  9. What is “home” for you, either literally or figuratively? I was born and raised in southeastern Kentucky.  My family lives there still and I will always feel that connection to that area, to the mountains, to running barefoot in the hills behind my grandmother’s house and catching “crawdads” in the creek.  But I also feel as though my current city, Lexington, is just as much my home as that hollow now.  I don’t think I could picture myself living anywhere else.  This town puts quite a spell on people.  In addition, this town has given me the opportunity to meet some of the best people I’ve ever known.  In a less literal sense, I feel at home any time I am with the people who know me best, my friends that have seen the good, bad, and ridiculous.  The ones that I may not see for months at a time, but as soon as we sit down together it’s like it was just yesterday.
  10. Tea or coffee?  Generally, coffee.  Unless I’m sick, and then it has to be tea.  Hot tea with a bit of milk and sugar was always my mother’s first attack on a cold.
  11. Finish this sentence: Tomorrow, I really want… Successful work.  Tomorrow marks the beginning of a very trying week at my job in which the company is being reviewed and it is often a very stressful time.

11 New Questions:

  1. What made you decide to start a blog?
  2. Favorite meal ever?
  3. If you invented a time machine, where/when would you go?
  4. What’s the top thing on your bucket list?
  5. Favorite movie?
  6. What’s a bad habit that you have?
  7. Do you have an idol?  Someone you really look up to or that has influenced your life in some way?
  8. What is your guilty pleasure?
  9. Favorite color?
  10. Dream job?
  11. Last thing that made you laugh until you cried?
  1. Thank you so much, Kayster! I’m thrilled, it’s the first nomination I’ve ever received! Incredible amounts of bloglove ❤

  2. Thank you Imthatkay! I really appreciate your thinking of me 🙂 It is quite a compliment coming from someone who writes as well as you do!

  3. […] just refer to my award posts for the blogs I nomiated?  Here, here, and here. K, […]

  4. […] I Got Another Award!? (imthatkay.wordpress.com) […]

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

