imthatkay

February Blog Challenge – Days 18-28

In Challenges, February 2013 on March 4, 2013 at 11:14 pm

I know, I know.  It isn’t even February anymore.  However, I have legitimate reasons for being so far behind.  I am a great daughter and have been caring for my mother while she recovered from surgery.  Granted, that’s just since the end of last week, and before that I have no excuse.  Anyways, I’m going to do my best to just finish a damn month here.  🙂

Day 18: Dream Bedroom

When I was a kid, I saw a picture of a beach bedroom.  There was sand on the floor and waves painted on the walls and seashells everywhere.  I thought it was the coolest thing ever.  But then I got older and I actually went to a beach and realized how horrible it would be to have sand all around you at all times.  I saw another picture when I was younger of the bed being a hole in the floor.  Everything was around the room like normal, but one corner was like a pit of pillows with 3 little stairs leading down into it.  I still think this idea is kinda cool.  But I guess my dream bedroom wouldn’t really have anything to do with what it looked like.  Obviously I would want it to look nice.  I think shades of blue are very relaxing, and a bedroom should be relaxing first and foremost.  At least a queen sized bed for plenty of room.  That’s about all I got for that…

Day 19: Favorite Childhood Book

I had many, and all show what a strange child I was.  First of all, every time my mother took me to the library, I would find the book about potty training.  I can’t remember the name now, but the character was a little girl who wanted to use her potty but she didn’t have to go yet so she sat and sat and sat.  There was a whole page of just “So she sat and sat and sat and sat and sat and sat…” and so on.  I remember trying to read each and every “and sat” but it was near impossible.  Another book I distinctly recall from my childhood, probably because I read it multiple times, was called “Ghost Cat,” I think.  All I can remember now is that it was a cat with a blind eye that allowed him to see ghost animals around his house.  I kind of want to find it and re-read it again so I can remember how it ends.

Day 20: Pay it forward
So, I have no idea if I paid anything forward on this day.  But I will keep an eye out for opportunities in the future.  Also, this was a very good movie.

Day 21: Favorite 5 Blogs

Can I just refer to my award posts for the blogs I nomiated?  Here, here, and here. K, thanks.

Day 22: Dream Wedding

I don’t have one.  I never have.  I think a dream wedding would just be a happy one where both parties get all their ideas fulfilled because they have the same ideas and hopes and dreams.  I’ve never had the fairytale princess wedding in my head like other little girls do.  I had a wedding once.  I had a beautiful dress and a beautiful cake and beautiful bridesmaids.  It was a ton of money that will be paid off longer than the length of the marriage.  So there’s the elephant I’ve been hiding: marital problems with an impending divorce.  There it is, and moving on… To address this challenge, I say that the actual wedding doesn’t mean nearly as much as a bride-to-be thinks it does.  What matters is that everythign else is in place and the person you’re in it with is the right one.

Day 23: Meeting 5 Twitter Friends

No idea.  I do use Twitter to help promote my blog and to follow famous people (yeah, I’m that girl).  So maybe some of the celebrities?  I don’t know.

Day 24: Would you change anything about yourself physically, what and why?

Meh.  Several years ago, I would have given a very different answer.  But now, I can hoenstly say that I would not.  I can make changes to my body with eating right and exercise, which I intend to get on a good schedule of, and rid myself of the extra skin and jiggly pieces.  The rest of me is just that – me.  They are characteristics and features given to me from my mom and my grandmother.  I have wide hips, I have love handles.  Those are genetic and on every member of my mom’s side of my family.  But my face has features of my family and that gives me a further sense of connection to them, even the family members that I hardly know.  What I would change about myself is the inside of my body.  I have weak ankles and knees from years of athletics when I was younger.  I have a terribly back from an injury compounded with a car accident years later.  I have arthritis in my joints that flares just before any kind of weather is about to hit.  If I could change anything, I would fix my joints and spine so I didn’t have the almost daily pain, but that is all.

Day 25: My Family

This is my rotten and oh so adorable Chiweenie, Nina.  She likes to cuddle under the covers in the mornings when I have to get up for work.  She also does not care for my folding clothes and likes for me to rub her belly instead.

  1. “What matters is that everythign else is in place and the person you’re in it with is the right one.” Tell that to the people around me. So many people get into debts just to have ridiculously lavish weddings

  2. Day 24: I’m always thinking ‘oh, if only there was a little more here and a little less here…’ etc, so it’s a nice and healthy approach. My features are part of my family history – i like this. Good work, and I hope your mum makes a speedy recovery : )

  3. I really love the way you wrote that dream wedding paragraph. Can I copy it (and add ur URL) for a blog post if I ever write on the topic in the future?

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

