kaymlink

Today Is A New Day

In Opinion/Personal, Personal on May 8, 2013 at 9:36 pm

I am officially moved. I turned in the keys to my old home yesterday afternoon. Initially, I was very stressed and very worried. I was downgrading. While the people around me were moving forward to bigger and better things, I was going in the opposite direction. The new apartment is much much smaller, my furniture wouldn’t fit. I got short notice on the move, so I wasn’t prepared in the slightest. I didn’t have family nearby to help and the truck I used in past moves was my (soon-to-be) ex-father-in-law‘s. I had no idea what I was going to do.

So I called in reinforcements, and some of my reinforcements called in their own reinforcements. And finally, it’s done. Now I feel a new sense of accomplishment. I’m not moving backwards – I’m starting fresh. It’s not smaller – it’s cozier. And it’s mine, just for me. And any time I start to feel down, I will remind myself of my grandmother’s words on the phone.

“Are you eating? Are you taking care of yourself? You sound down. Don’t let this get you down. I don’t know how much you believe, but in God‘s eyes you’ve done nothing wrong. I’m so proud of you for standing up for yourself and being so strong.”

This could come across as a general statement between loved ones, but it isn’t. My grandmother has had a hard life and is one of the strongest people I will ever know. I have always thought of her in my own hard times and thought that I would never be able to become a woman like her. I always said that if I could become a fraction of the person she is, I would be able to die happy and content. For her to tell me that she’s proud of how strong I am for doing something that she wouldn’t have been able to do…it both brought me to tears and made me truly proud of myself for the first time in a long time. It’s that support – from my grandmother, my mother, my uncles, my dear friends, all offering assistance and encouragement – that really let’s me know that everything will be okay and I am headed in exactly the direction I am supposed to be going.

  1. wonderful blog!!!
    Keep your spirits up and then you would reach your destination..
    Good luck!!!
    Hats off to you and your grandmom’s spirits πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. You’ve got one hell of a grandma. And it sounds like you’ve got a good attitude about a bad situation. Good for you.

    A fresh start sounds like a good thing.

    Like

  3. You go girl : a new direction, a new home, and a great writer on the road to life πŸ™‚ My Grandma was a source of inspiration, too: she said “Always look after number one, because no ther bugger will do it for you”. I apply it every day πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Grandmas know best, that’s for sure. Keep your head up, you may feel like you’re being pulled backwards, but that’s even more of a reason to fight forward. Thanks for the link to my blog. Its greatly appreciated! πŸ™‚

    Like

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

