kaymlink

Dream Chronicles – A Lover’s Quarrel

In Opinion/Personal, Personal on June 3, 2014 at 7:55 pm

A History in Review

Not too big of a deal here.  This was just the first dream I’ve had in a while that I remember all the details of.  It was still pretty upsetting and I woke up breathing hard, emotionally disturbed, and teary eyed because it was so vivid.

I’m sitting in my home – not my actual tiny one bedroom apartment that my boyfriend and I share.  It was a larger home with a different layout, but in my dream I knew it to be home.  My boyfriend was sitting on the couch with one of his friends, an older lady from his work.  He stated he was hungry, so I asked him what he wanted.  He told me hash browns, which we did not have, so I gathered up some potatoes and began cleaning and cutting them to make homemade hash browns.  While I’m in the kitchen working away, he begins telling his coworker friend about how I work from home and have a decently flexible schedule.  This is the exact opposite of his factory job with strict shifts and guidelines for taking time off.

In real life, we often have conversations about how he believes his job is much harder and more demanding than mine because it is more physical.  I remind him occasionally that while this is true, my job is more demanding mentally and emotionally, as I am responsible for the lives of my clients.  Yes, my job is mostly paperwork and desk work, but this is still complicated and tiring.  He knows this, he sees me struggle with certain things or work long hours to meet deadlines.  He sees the drama and trouble I go through from having to work with different agencies and staffing and the state and insurances.

However, in my dream, he is not understanding of this.  He comes into the kitchen while I am cooking, still talking about my job to his coworker.  He explains in a very sarcastic tone that I get exhausted and it upsets me when people talk about my job like it is not a real job.  I respond with, “When you say it like that, you’re basically saying that you believe that to be true.”  He gives me a look and I know he means that I am correct.  He is sarcastic and borderline belittling me in front of his friend.  In my head I think, “How dare he do this in front of company and while I’m in here slaving away to make him home cooked food.”  I can’t control my emotions and I begin crying and yelling.  Next thing I know I’m throwing punches, each one landing squarely on his face, while he seems unaffected and continues on chatting about how I must just be lazy because my “job” can not be that tiring.

I think it was after the 3rd or 4th punch that I woke up to sharp breaths and a moist cheek, realizing that I had fallen asleep on my couch and that it was all a dream.  It took me probably 5 minutes to regain my composure, but I still felt off.  I ended up climbing into bed with my boyfriend to relax and nap, as he was still asleep so he would be rested for his night shift job.  During my nap with him in bed, I did not have any more dreams.

  1. […]                         A History In Review                                     A Lover’s Quarrel […]

    Like

  2. […]             A History In Review            A Lover’s Quarrel            Home […]

    Like

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

