imthatkay

A Name Changer

In Opinion/Personal, Personal on January 28, 2015 at 9:45 am

It happened. A day I thought I would never see, a day I thought I would never have, a day that until within the last year I never thought I would want.

Boyfriend was acting very strange lately. I was catching whispers between him and his friends upon entering rooms, immediately followed by failed attempts to appear normal and quick “nothing” responses when I casually ask what’s up. He became secretive with his cell phone, constantly texting away and even putting a pass code lock on it. In my usual fashion, I went straight to paranoia. Here it is, that bomb I’ve waiting for that is going to destroy this whole world I’ve been living in the last year and a half.  I don’t question that he loves me. I don’t think for a second that he would hurt me. But I still always have that little voice in my head screaming all my worst fears and all my past experiences.  In his usual fashion, he read my mind and squashed my concerns by casually tells me about putting passcode on his phone after leaving it unattended at work and coming back to find someone had been messing with it, as well as the conversations he has been having with his family about my Christmas gifts, since I’m apparently very difficult to shop for.

Fast forward: Thanksgiving.  We have a lovely time with his family.  Boyfriend plans on going Black Friday shopping with his parents.  They are all on a mission to find the perfect Christmas gifts for me, so I am not allowed to go.  I ask Boyfriend to just keep me posted on his time frame, since we will also be leaving Friday afternoon to make the 3.5 hour journey to my hometown where we will spend Saturday at my family’s Thanksgiving dinner.  Boyfriend leaves and I am left to tidy the house, pack our bags, and basically kill time as he fights the crazy mall shoppers and traffic.  A few hours pass and I haven’t heard from him, so I send him a quick text asking when he thinks he will be done, to which he responds he is headed home now.  To kill just a few more minutes, I decide to put our names on the new stockings I had just bought. I was still surrounded by glue and glitter when Boyfriend got home.  He goes into the kitchen, asking if I would like a glass of champagne since we won’t be leaving for a few more hours.  He’s insistent, so I agree.  He brings me the glass while I’m still working on our stockings with my back to him.  As he set the glass down, he said, “Here, you’re going to need this.”

Panic.

“Why?” I asked slowly, my mind going crazy with theories that he’d blown a bunch of money on something stupid while out for Black Friday.

“You know I love you, right?”

More panic.  “Yes…”

“And you know you’re my best friend, right?”

Insane amounts of panic.  What in the hell has happened?!  “Yes.  Babe, what’s going on?  Why are you acting so funny?” At this point I’ve completely forgotten about the stockings.  I’m still seated in my living room floor.  “What did you do?” I asked as I reached a hand up toward him.

He took my hand and replied, “Nothing, but there was something I wanted to ask you.” And then it happened.  Before it even registered in my brain, he had gotten down in the floor next to me and produced a tiny box from his pocket, opening it to reveal the most perfect diamond ring inside as he asked if I would marry him.

I was in shock.  Sure, we discussed candidly about staying together forever or being an old married couple one day, but a proposal?!  This was pleasantly unexpected, and my response was slightly delayed.  Not because I wasn’t sure, not because I had to think about it, not because I didn’t know my answer.  But because I couldn’t speak.  Waterworks were a go and all I could do was hug him.  Finally, I croaked out, “for real?”

He just sat in the floor with me and held me.  “Yes, for real.  I want to marry you.”

I forced myself to pull away from him and that’s when I realized how badly he was shaking.  So much so that he could only sit and hold the ring box and I had to remove the ring and put it on my own finger after wiping my face and telling him “Of course I will marry you!”  Then we sat and hugged for a little while longer and he said “I told you that you’d need some champagne.  To celebrate.”

So Black Friday was a name changer for my household. Eventually, I will have a new last name.  And Boyfriend has now been upgraded to Fiance!

IMG_1223

  1. Beautiful ring and a great story. Congrats!

  2. MANY Blessings 🙂

  3. MANY Blessings 🙂

Comment

Ordinary Adventures

Everyday journeys of a one of a kind girl.

One Day at a Time

The world is a confusing place, these are just my musings on it.

The Girl

enjoying whatever life has to offer...

whatamitodo

The ultimate advice site

